About Us

The regional committee is active in organising a series of events and seminars.
Within the area are the counties of Cornwall, Devon, Somerset, Dorset, Wiltshire, Gloucestershire and Cuba (the county that used to be Avon). The Channel Isles and the Isles of Scilly are also in the region.
With the Cotswolds, Hardy’s Wessex, Dartmoor and Exmoor and the surfing beaches of Cornwall, it is hardly surprising that we are often hosts to other regions, most notably the CIHT Northern Ireland!  
The Region Committee includes representatives from quarry companies, contractors and consultants, and local authorities. Likewise the membership incorporates a wide range of employers, with a strong representation from consultants, central and local government, contractors and the materials industry.  
A programme of seminars and workshops is organised throughout the year covering all aspects of highway engineering from integrated transport solutions and traffic management, through to road design and construction, blacktop materials and quarrying, network management and procurement strategies.  
South Western Branch History
Founded in 1948, it has produced no less than nine national Presidents starting with Lt Colonel John Blackwell in 1934, Robert Carnegie, Jock Thompson, Henry Criswell of “Criswell Curve” fame, John Leigh, Bill Lee, Michael Clark, John Wootton and David Hutchinson.
Branches to Regions
In 2015 CIHT’s 18 UK Branches were restructured to 12 Regions to match the boundaries of the Devolved Nations and the English Regions.

On Friday 17th April 2015 the South Western Branch became CIHT South West.