About Us

The CIHT West Midlands is situated at the heart of the country’s transport infrastructure network and covers the areas of Staffordshire, Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin, Stoke-on-Trent, Herefordshire, Worcestershire, Warwickshire and West Midlands.
CIHT West Midlands was formed in 2015 however, the former branch was created in 1959 when the Midland branch was divided into smaller more manageable areas. Click here to read more about the history of the region.
Regional Committee
The region has always managed to attract a lot of support for the committee and currently has a membership of 26 with 2 co-opted member. This includes 7 officers whose portraits can be found in the 'Whos who' section.
The region has always been well represented on CIHT’s Council and very much involved with the work of the Council’s Boards. There are 3 members of the Committee currently holding Council positions.
Committee Meetings
The region AGM is typically held on the same evening as the Annual Dinner in the spring each year. There are normally committee meetings every few months throughout the year. The majority of meetings are typically held in Birmingham at Corporate Partners offices.
In 2015 CIHT’s 18 UK Branches were restructured to 12 Regions to match the boundaries of the Devolved Nations and the English Regions. On Thursday 19th March 2015 the West Midlands Branch became CIHT West Midlands.
The regional Committee has a strong history of providing Presidents of the Institution and has provided six in the Branches 50 year history. These are:
  1. Jock Thompson, President 1962-1963
  2. Ron Bridle 1981-1982
  3. John Cox, President 1982-1983
  4. Alan Onions, President 1985-1986
  5. Cameron Johnston, President 1991-1992
  6. Steve Rowsell, President 2016-2017
The Branch also provided two National Treasurers.
  1. John Garner, National Treasurer  
  2. Stuart Wollaston, National Treasurer