CIHT Awards 2010

The 5th Annual CIHT Awards ceremony took place on 16 June 2010 at Lord’s Cricket Ground, London. The CIHT Awards 2010 are a celebration of the highways and transportation industry, it is an opportunity to reward the remarkable achievements of those working in the sector and to promote this professionalism and best practice to a wider industry audience.

The host for the evening was Jonathan Agnew, from Test Match Special who delighted guests as they relaxed in the Nursery Pavilion.

Click here to view the CIHT Awards 2010 Gallery

The brochure listing all the shortlisted projects, with descriptions and photos can be downloaded here: CIHT Awards 2010

CIHT Awards 2010 Winners:

CIHT/Highways Agency Health & Safety at Work Award
Atkins with (Somerset Highways) with Grid Lift

CIHT/Department for Transport Manual for Streets Award
Inverness City Centre Streetscape and Transportation Project by Land Use Consultants

CIHT/Costain Award for Effective Partnerships
Worcestershire County Council with Worcestershire Highways

CIHT/Atkins Road Safety Award - Reducing All Casualties
Highways Agency, Cambridgeshire & Peterborough Road Safety Partnership, Speed Check Services, Carillion URS with the A14 Huntingdon to Cambridge Route Enforcement and Casualty Reduction Scheme

CIHT/Atkins Road Safety Award - Reducing Child Casualties
Islington Council with their Child Casualty Reduction Scheme

CIHT/ Mott MacDonald Sustainability Award
Leicestershire County Council and Leicester City Council for their Enderby Park and Ride entry

CIHT/Colas Award for Technological Application
Ringway Group with their LED Signs entry

CIHT/Ringway Award for Innovation
Balfour Beatty Civil Engineering Ltd, the Welsh Assembly Government, Atkins and Crown International for their Verge Mounted Cantilever Pole Innovation as part of the M4 Variable Speed Limit (VSL) Project

CIHT/TRL Environmental Award
Peter Brett Associates with their Phase 1 of Brooklands Ridge in Milton Keynes entry

CIHT/Centre for Protection of National Infrastructure Award for Security in the Public Realm
West One Infrastructure Services, Westminster City Council & Ministry of Justice for their UK Supreme Court submission

CIHT/WSP Award for Urban Design
West One Infrastructure Services, City of Westminster, Transport for London, The Crown Estate, Atkins and New West End Company for the Oxford Circus Diagonal Crossing

CIHT /Mouchel Major Projects Award
Costain for the M25 Bell Common Tunnel