The CIHT Awards 2018 open for submission

January 3 2018  

The CIHT Awards 2018 open for submission
The CIHT Awards 2018 open for submissions today Wednesday 03 January 2018. The annual CIHT Awards are a celebration of the highways and transportation industry. Now in their thirteenth year, there are 15 award categories across diverse sectors and markets within the industry including major multi modal infrastructure projects, road, rail and aviation. 
The awards provide an opportunity to reward the remarkable achievements of those working across the public and private sectors as clients and contractors to demonstrate evidence of the highest professional standards, capabilities and best practice to a wider industry audience. CIHT has enjoyed a long-term relationship with our key sponsors of specific awards including the Department for Transport, Colas, Costain, and Ringway.
Shortlisted finalists across all categories will be advised by the end of April 2018. CIHT Awards 2018 winners will be announced at the CIHT Awards Ceremony taking place at the De Vere Grand Connaught Rooms in London on Thursday 14 June 2018.
CIHT is recognised as one of the leading industry membership organisations by our members, our private and public sectors partners, senior government decision makers and the media. The Institution and the CIHT Awards stand for excellence and innovation in knowledge transfer, education and continuing professional development.
The following 13 category submissions close at 23:59 on Friday 02 March 2018: 
  • CIHT Collaboration Award recognises achievements and added value resulting from effective collaboration in the development and/or delivery of solutions.
  • CIHT Health & Safety at Work Award recognises outstanding examples of developments that make a significant contribution to the health and safety of employees across the highways and transportation sector.  
  • CIHT / Ringway Innovation Award recognises innovative problem solving within the industry and encourages imaginative concepts and excellence.
  • CIHT Major Projects Award recognises outstanding individual examples of transportation or highway projects delivered on time, to budget that make major contributions to the accessibility and transport choices of local or national community.
  • CIHT / Colas Skills Award recognises outstanding achievements and commitment to skills development by employers.
  • CIHT / Costain Sustainable Transport Award recognises the contribution of transport to social, economic and environmental sustainability.
  • CIHT Inclusive Transportation Award Transport has a central role to play in improving societal mental health and addressing the needs of disabled users and an increasingly ageing population. This award recognises that demand for accessible transport will increase significantly as a result of these demographic changes.
  • CIHT Creating Better Places Award recognises outstanding street designs that improve the places around them. 
  • CIHT John Smart Road Safety Award recognises outstanding achievements which improve road safety. It identifies, shares and celebrates good road safety practice.
  • CIHT Sustainability Award recognises projects or strategies delivered or developed by the highways and transportation industry that demonstrate a contribution to sustainable working practices.
  • CIHT / Department for Transport Technology Award recognises excellence in the application and introduction of technology within the highways and transportation industry creating significant benefits.
  • CIHT Asset Management Award recognises the achievements of asset management professionals, teams and organisations working in the highways and transportation sector and promotes the application of whole life asset management principles.
  • CIHT Diversity & Inclusion Award is open to employers who have signed CIHT’s Diversity & Inclusion Charter demonstrating commitment to diversity and inclusion.
These category award submissions close at 23:59 on Wednesday 11 April 2018:
  • CIHT Inspirational Leadership Award recognises and celebrates the value of inspirational leadership at a time of change in the highways and transportation sector. Nominations must be submitted by CIHT members. The nominees do not need to be a member of CIHT.
  • CIHT Young Professional Award Young Professionals who are members of CIHT who may nominate themselves or be nominated by their CIHT Region or their employer. Young Professional is defined as up to 10 years’ experience in the industry.
For more information on the CIHT Awards 2018 click here.


Return to news listing