



Notes of Meeting Held at:			Meeting No:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport			N/A
Purpose of Meeting:			Meeting Date:
Annual General Meeting			17 June 2019
Attended by:  Bob Sargeant E Sands Stuart Summerfield Stewart Knowles John Burrell Paul J Martin Ian Medd Lyn Turner Eric Hill Alan Rookies Kevin Nicholson Kate Carpenter Brian Parry Nadeem Mohammed Tawab Kazemi Joanna Dziurdz Richard Pearson Colin Wyllie Matt Smith D Robinson C Gooch A Bownes  Distribution: as attached plus SoRSA Membership Sue Percy – CIHT HQ	A Coventry D A Haydock C Gillett P Duncanson D Symons K Skillings T Askew M Coleman Linda Irons C Vanlottum A Tsakonas Dan Weir Cliff Orrell Patrick Hall John Ferguson Miguel-Angel Ser Jill Fenton Barry Smith Ellie Hendren Stephen McVeigh David Minshall Kate Yeo Jamie Castle Ross Rawlings	rano Santos	Steve Willoughby John Hough Tom Corke Bryn Kemp Renata Barnes-Wright Alastair Pike Wojciech Barela Peter Taylor S Percy Adam Wilson Bruce Woodhams Chris Bonnett Robert Russell Henry Gates Martin Tugwell Tom Langridge Nicola Childs David Scott Nancy Sloan David Southcott Don Vann Simon Hawley
Prepared By		Date	
Linda Irons		June 2019	

No	Item	Comment
1	Apologies for Absence	
	Stuart Kay - Honorary Secretary	
	Our understanding and best wishes for a speedy	
	recovery was supported by all those in attendance.	

Agenda: AGM 2019.doc

No	Item	Comment
2	Election of Vice Chair	
	Nomination – Den Symons	
	Proposed – John Barrell	
	Seconded – David Robinson	
3	Election of Honorary Secretary (Interim)	
	Nomination – Linda Irons	
	Proposed – John Barrell	
	Seconded – Anya Bownes	
4	Election of Web Officer	
	Nomination – Renata Barnes-Wright	
	Proposed – John Barrell	
	Seconded – Den Symons	
	·	
5	Election of Newsletter Editor	
	Nomination – Ian Medd	
	Proposed – John Barrell	
	Seconded – Chris Van Lottum	
6	Election of Ordinary Committee Member (Wales)	
	Nomination – Alastair Pike	
	Proposed – John Barrell	
	Seconded – Renata Barnes-Wright	
7	Election of three Ordinary Committee Members plus	A point was raised regarding the
	North of England representative	election of the Membership Secretary.
	Nomination – Matt Smith	The Membership Secretary – is not a
	Proposed – John Barrell	formal membership appointment and is
	Seconded – Libby Sands	appointed by committee.
	Nomination – Richard Pearson	Libby Sands is standing down as
	Proposed – John Barrell	Membership Secretary and will be
	Seconded – Eric Hill	replaced by Lyn Turner, as the primary
	Nomination – Chris Gooch	contact, assisted by Chris Gooch.
	Proposed – John Barrell	Formal thanks to Libby for all her work
	Seconded – Libby Sands	as Membership Secretary was made.
	Nomination – Chris Van-Lottum (North of England Rep)	
	Proposed – John Barrell	
	Seconded – Linda Irons	
8	Chairman's Report	
	The Chair welcomed everyone to the AGM at our new	
	conference venue and thanked Aldercross for organising	
	another successful conference.	

No	Item	Comment
9	Minutes from the Eleventh Annual General Meeting  The meeting was held on 25 <sup>th</sup> June 2018 5.30pm in The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Birmingham.  An apology was made by the Chair (JB) that due to the loss of the original notes taken at the meeting there is no contemporary record of the AGM. JB had documented his recollection of the AGM along with the original AGM Agenda and proposed this as a best record available for discussion /approval  A discussion followed regarding the obligations as a Society, as there is a requirement for the Society to take minutes and have them agreed. Opinions on the best way forward differed.	Sue Percy, CIHT CEO, suggestion as there were no formal written minutes to consider, the best approach was to go through last year's agenda and record decisions, as a best record. This was formally nominated by Tim Agnew, seconded by Kevin Skillings and agreed by the attendees.  Actions - The Best Record of the 2018 AGM to be circulated to the whole membership  Notes of 2019 AGM to be included as an agenda item for the next Committee Meeting in September 2019
10	Matters Arising from the above Best Record The changes proposed to the Society's Constitution were rejected by those members present. There were several issues up for consideration, but the key sticking point was the proposal on how the Vice Chair nomination should be brought before the membership.  At the last Committee Meeting, September 2018, the Committee reviewed all the concerns expressed and modified the proposal – hopefully to address the concerns expressed.  As allowed in the existing Constitution changes to the document need to be agreed at either the next AGM or at an Extraordinary GM.  The changes have been under discussion for over three years now and need to be resolved. It has therefore been decided that an EGM was to be held for this purpose in Manchester on 19 November 2018 at 1.30pm.  Given the diverse nature of our membership and recognising that many people would not be able to attend a specially convened meeting, an on-line survey was provided to accompany the formal notice so that as many members as possible could express their views which will be reported verbally to the meeting on 19 November 2018.	
11	Minutes of Extraordinary General Meeting As attached	

Agenda: AGM 2019.doc

No	Item	Comment
12	Matter Arising from the Above Minutes	
	None	
13	Financial Report	
14	Approval of 2018 Annual Accounts	Approved
45		
15	Appointment of Independent Financial Examiner	Agreed
16	Appointment of Vice Chair, Honorary Secretary	
	(Interim), Web Officer, Newsletter Editor, Ordinary	
	Committee member (Wales) Ordinary Committee	
	member (North of England) and three other Ordinary	
	Committee Members.	
	The following persons were formally appointed  Vice Chair	
	Den Symons	
	Honorary Secretary (Interim)	
	Linda Irons	
	Web Officer	
	Renata Barnes-Wright	
	Election of Newsletter Editor	
	Ian Medd	
	Election of Ordinary Committee Member (Wales)	
	Alastair Pike	
	Election of Ordinary Committee Member (North of	
	England) – currently vacant	
	Chris Van Lottum	
	Ordinary Committee Members	
	Matt Smith	
	Richard Pearson Chris Gooch	
	Chris Gooch	
17	Motion from SoRSA Committee: All Officer and	
	Committee Member voting papers are destroyed.	
	No voting papers were required	
18	Hand over to the new chair	
	Stewart Knowles formally took up the position of Chair	
	of the Society.	

Agenda: AGM 2019.doc