THE CHARTERED INSTITUTION OF HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of the ninth Annual General Meeting held on 19th June 2019 at 119 Britannia Walk, London N1 7JE. The meeting started at 16.30hrs.

The President Matthew Lugg took the chair and it was confirmed that the meeting was quorate.

NOTICE: The Notice convening the meeting was taken as read.

MINUTES: The Minutes of the eighth Annual General Meeting of CIHT held on 20th June 2018 were approved and signed by the President subject to the amendment that Kerry Evans was elected in the CIHT Cymru Wales Regional election. The motion to approve the minutes, proposed by Martin Tugwell and seconded by Claudia Currie, was carried unanimously.

<u>REPORT:</u> The President confirmed that the Annual report and accounts had been available on the website from 16th May 2019. The President proposed acceptance of the Report. Peter Dickinson seconded the motion which was agreed unanimously.

ACCOUNTS: Peter Connolly, Director of Corporate and Business Services, reported on the Annual Accounts for 2018 on behalf of the Honorary Treasurer, Peter Brown. He informed members that it had been a positive financial year with the Group reporting an annual surplus of £53k. This compared to a surplus of £107k achieved in 2017. Members were advised that during 2018, Trustees took a decision to fully repay the mortgage loan held on the offices at Britannia Walk. The Institution remains in a robust financial position and maintains a balance of reserves that exceeds the minimum requirement to cover four months operating expenditure. Trustees have taken a decision to set aside designated funds that enable the Institution to invest in infrastructure (eg Project Alpha) and take advantage of new opportunities and address future challenges. The President proposed the Accounts be adopted. This was seconded by Martin Tugwell. The motion was carried unanimously.

<u>AUDITORS:</u> The President proposed that Sayer Vincent be appointed as CIHT's Auditors. Nick Hopcraft seconded this motion which was carried unanimously.

<u>OFFICERS:</u> The President announced that Council had elected the following to serve as Honorary Officers for 2019-20:

Deborah Sims Senior Vice President:

Neil Johnstone Vice President:

Sue Sharland Honorary Treasurer:

<u>ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS</u>: Peter Dickinson, Chief Scrutineer, presented his report. An online ballot had been conducted once again through specialist company Mi-Voice. The results of the election for Ordinary Members was as follows:

1,569 valid votes were cast (1,561 online and 8 postal returns). In alphabetical order, the following candidates were duly elected to serve on the Council for the next three years:

Kate Carpenter

Julia Gregory

Peter Molyneux

Five candidates stood in the Regional elections this year, and the following five were elected:

Andrew Warrington CIHT East Midlands

David Sprunt CIHT East of England

Stelios Rodoulis CIHT London

Bert Bailie CIHT Northern Ireland

Chris Young CIHT West Midlands

The report confirmed that Mi-Voice had been instructed to destroy the ballot papers.

The President congratulated those successfully elected, noting that there had been 13 candidates for the 5 Ordinary Member vacant positions on Council. He encourages unsuccessful candidates to consider standing again.

There being no matters of any other business the President declared the meeting closed at 16.45 and invited all members to reconvene for the Inauguration of Martin Tugwell as CIHT President for 2019-20.