Who's Who

CIHT Republic of Ireland



Andy Campbell

Andy is a Civil Engineer with over 35 years' experience in infrastructure project delivery. He specialises in major project delivery including the A5 and M20 road schemes in Ireland. He has a passion for optimising delivery through effective project management, adoption of lean principles and capturing the benefits of innovative solutions. Special interests include ITS, the environment and the circular economy.

Vice-Chair & Honorary Treasurer

Saurabh Gupta

Saurabh is a Chartered Civil Engineer with a master’s degree in Transportation Systems Engineering with over 18 years of experience, working on a portfolio of multi-disciplinary transportation projects and programmes. He is presently an Associate Director in the Strategic Consulting (Transport Planning) Group at Jacobs. Prior to moving to Jacobs, he worked for Arup and Halcrow in Ireland, UK, Belgium, India and Malaysia. He also represents Jacobs on the Roads and Transportation Society Committee, Engineers Ireland.



Mark O'Sullivan

Mark is a Graduate Transport Planner with Jacobs and is a recent addition to the committee having recently graduated from studying Geography at Trinity College Dublin. At Jacobs, he is involved in a range of projects including conducting audits of transport services across Ireland alongside managing traffic surveys being conducted around the country.

Past Chair & Regional Member of CIHT Council

Matt Steele

Matthew has been a Director of Traffic Transport and Road Safety Associates Limited (TTRSA) since 2009. He has over twenty years of experience in the industry and specialises in the fields of Transport Planning and Road Safety. He is registered as a Road Safety Audit Team Leader with Transport Infrastructure Ireland (TII) and has undertaken all stages of Road Safety Audit (Stage F, 1, 1/2, 2, 3 and 4) on all types and scales of scheme, including the M50 motorway and its associated junctions. He is a graduate of both the University of Salford and University of Westminster, and has worked extensively in Ireland and the UK, previously holding senior roles in Mouchel Parkman (MP), Transportation Planning International (TPi) and Colin Buchanan and Partners.

Events Officer

Sarah McDonagh

Since graduating from university in 2016, she has worked for them on a variety of projects for the National Transport Authority and Transport Infrastructure Ireland. Sarah is currently studying for a MSc in Transport and Mobility in Technical University Dublin. In her spare time she holds the position of Chair of the Young Professionals Committee for the ROI CIHT Branch. She hopes to increase the number of young professionals in the CIHT ROI branch during her time on the committee.

Membership/ Recruitment Officer

Paraic Caroll

Dr. Páraic Carroll is an Assistant Professor in Transport Engineering in the School of Civil Engineering at University College Dublin, where he lectures in transportation modelling, policy, and planning.
Prior to this Páraic worked as a Transport Modeller in the Transport Planning and Capital Investment Division of the National Transport Authority.

Páraic completed a PhD in Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering at Trinity College Dublin, his thesis was entitled: 'Incentivising Car-shedding Behaviour in the Greater Dublin Area'. Which examined the behavioural response of commuters within the Greater Dublin Area (GDA), to a range of policy incentives devised to encourage travellers to make greater usage of sustainable travel modes for work and education trips.


Communications/ Web Officer 

Luciana Pires

Luciana is an Architect and Urban Planner with a master’s degree in Transport Engineering. She currently works as a Transport Planner at Jacobs, where she is involved in a variety of projects including Metrolink.
Before moving to Ireland in 2017, Luciana worked as a Transport Engineer in Brazil. She was involved in the planning, implementation and operation of bus corridors and in the Rio de Janeiro’s city preparation to host the Olympic Games in 2016.


Other Committee members 

  • Colin Acton
  • Lorraine D'Arcy
  • John Fleming
  • Cathal Fahy
  • Quentin O'Connor
Got a question? info@ciht.org.uk 020 7336 1571