North West

Welcome to CIHT North West

On Tuesday 24th April 2015 the North Western Branch became CIHT North West. The North West Region covers the areas of: Blackburn with Darwen; Cheshire; Greater Manchester; Halton; Isle of Man; Lancashire; Merseyside and Warrington. CIHT North West is focused on engaging with our local professional membership and is highly active in building collaborative partnerships with other leading professional institutions and industry leading bodies in the region.

Bookmark in MyCIHT

Events in the Region

CIHT North West organises a yearly programme of evening meetings which cover a wide range of topics reflecting the diversity of professional disciplines within our membership. A full day seminar is usually organised once a year in the autumn. This event is in addition to the highly successful North West Transportation Lecture. Meetings and seminars are held in a variety of venues including Bolton, Preston, Manchester, Liverpool, Chester and Warrington.

On the social side, we hold an Annual Awards & Dinner in the Spring. This is a highly successful awards dinner, celebrating transportation in the North West. A  golf competition is held each year for the Robin Parkinson and James Drake Trophies. A team is also entered into the Locan Cup Competition and has been successful on eight occasions since the Cup became a competition for Regions in 1972.

Activity in the Region

The CIHT Committee, has a good representation from all sides of the profession. Within the existing committee there is representation from consultants, local authorities, contractors and academia.

CIHT North West enjoys a close liaison with other organisations in the North West including the four branches in the North Western region of the Institution of Civil Engineers, the Institute of Asphalt Technology, Lancashire Society for Engineering & the Environment and the Cheshire Surveyors Association. Many evening meetings are held jointly with one or more of  these organisations.

CIHT North West played a role in the creation of the recently launched North West Construction Industry Alliance. The Alliance brings together the membership and resources of the North Western Branches of CECA, ACE, ICE, CIHT and ICES who have come together to provide a single combined and consensus voice for the construction industry within the region and to help the customer to deliver more for less. Further details can be found on the Alliance’s web-site at

More details on all activities including news, events and who's who can be found on these pages.


Get in touch with the local committee e:


Latest North West News

see more North West news


Latest North West Events

Tags North West
Bookmark in MyCIHT
Got a question? 020 7336 1571