Who's Who

Here you will find details of our committee.


Get in touch with the local committee e: northeastandcumbria@ciht.org.uk

Bookmark in MyCIHT

Darran Kitchener, Chair, CIHT North East & Cumbria

Darran is an Associate Director at Milestone Transport Planning, based in Gateshead. As part of his role, Darran offers transportation, highways and planning advice to both public and private sector clients, from project inception, through masterplanning and design, planning permission (and as an Expert Witness, if required), to completion of the scheme on site.

Graduating with a BEng (hons) in Civil & Environmental Engineering in 2001 from Leeds University, his experience includes six years as a Highway Engineer for Halcrow (now Jacobs) on the trunk road and motorway network, before moving to consultancy with Wardell Armstrong, Jacobs and latterly Fairhurst, before opening the Milestone office in 2015. Spending time seconded to York, Sunderland and Northumberland Councils, as well as his experience working in the private sector, Darran has experienced all aspects of the Highways & Transportation sector.

Nicola Hill, Vice Chair, CIHT North East & Cumbria

Nicola is a Senior Transport Planner at Arup, based in the Stockton on Tees office. She has 15 years' transport planning experience and specialises in data analysis and GIS. Graduating from the University of Leeds with a Masters in Geography in 2003, Nicola joined JMP Consultants in Newcastle as a Transport Planner where she specialised in accessibility analysis and GIS. 

Nicola Hill

In 2007 Nicola joined Arup working in the Tees Valley primarily on development planning projects for both private and public sector clients. She gained the Transport Planning Professional (TPP) qualification in 2015. Nicola spent seven years on the Transport Planning Society Board, serving the last three years as Secretary, and joined the North East & Cumbria Committee in 2014, assisting with operations in the south of the region. In May 2017 she became Vice Chair for CIHT North East & Cumbria. 

John Barrell, Honorary Secretary, CIHT North East & Cumbria

John has over 35 years’ experience in traffic engineering, mainly road safety policy and research, and development control. He graduated from Lanchester Polytechnic (now Coventry University) with a BSc Civil Engineering.
John worked for local authorities in the north-west and north-east of England from 1973 to 1989.

Moving from public to private sector, he joined Ross Silcock (now incorporated into Jacobs) to work on a variety of UK and international projects, before taking a senior role advising on Road Safety Auditing at TRL from 2011 to 2016. John has been involved with CIHT North East since 2002 and was Branch Chairman for 2006-2007. He currently serves as Honorary Secretary for CIHT North East & Cumbria. He has also been Treasurer of the SoRSA Technical Branch since 2007 and is currently Chair for 2017-2019.

Vincent Muller, Chair, CIHT North East & Cumbria Young Professionals Committee

Vincent is a Transport Planner at Jacobs, Newcastle, with an MSc in Transport Planning and Business Management, from Newcastle University, achieved in 2014. His main areas of interest are travel planning, multi-modal modelling and public transport studies, which he has put to good use on major transport schemes in the north east and south of England since starting his career. 

Before moving to the UK, Vincent completed an undergraduate degree in Aviation Management from the University of Bad Honnef-Bonn, where his interest in working in public and sustainable transport quickly developed. He currently serves as Recruitment Officer on the CIHT North East & Cumbria Region Committee.

Bookmark in MyCIHT
Got a question? info@ciht.org.uk 020 7336 1571