Northern Ireland Who's Who

CIHT Northern Ireland

Here you will find details of our committee.


Get in touch with the local committee e:

Michael Bell

Chair, CIHT Northern Ireland

Michael is a Fellow of CIHT, a Chartered Transport Planning Professional and Chartered Manager, with almost 25 years’ experience in a wide range of transport planning and traffic engineering. 

A graduate of Ulster University, Michael is currently an Associate Director in the Future Mobility team at AECOM. 

Michael is keen to promote transport planning within the industry, actively encouraging and supporting others in achieving professional qualification in the field in addition to acting as a TPP Reviewer.

Stephen Bradshaw

Vice-Chair and Honorary Treasurer, CIHT Northern Ireland

Stephen is a CIHT Fellow and has over 25 years’ experience in the highways and infrastructure sector. 

A Chartered Procurement and Supply Professional, he is currently the Deputy Director of Procurement and Commercial, in the Department for Infrastructure.

Roisin Wilson

Honorary Secretary, CIHT Northern Ireland

Bio to follow. 

Dr. Kaine Lynch

Assistant Secretary, CIHT Northern Ireland

Kaine is an infrastructure specialist having led the delivery of strategically important public infrastructure programmes and projects for over a decade. 

His experience spans the entire delivery cycle, from the development of strategic plans and businesses cases to procurement and contract management.

He is currently a Director in EY’s Government & Infrastructure team. In this role he advises central and local governments across the island of Ireland on strategically important infrastructure issues.

Kaine has particular expertise in transport infrastructure having begun his career in Northern Ireland’s Roads Authority, the Department for Infrastructure (DfI). He has also spent time as both DfI’s Principal Geotechnical Advisor and Strategic Roads Improvement Programme Manager.

He is a Chartered Civil Engineer with a doctorate in Civil Engineering. His doctoral research investigated the impact of climate change on the long-term integrity of transport related geotechnical assets.

He is a Fellow of the Chartered Institution of Highways and Transportation (CIHT) and a member of the Institution of Civil Engineers. In his time as a CIHT Northern Ireland committee member, he has held roles including Young Professionals’ Group Chair, Recruitment Officer and Vice-Chair. He has also served at a national level as a Trustee and a Council Member.

Louise Dougan

Events Coordinator, CIHT Northern Ireland

Louise is a CIHT Fellow and past Chair of the Northern Ireland region. 

She is currently an Associate Bid Director with AECOM, leading their major pursuits in the UK and Ireland, covering all aspects of the infrastructure sector.

Kris Campbell

Emerging Professional Chair, CIHT Northern Ireland

Kris is a Chartered Civil Engineer with over 13 years’ experience within the Department for Infrastructure (DfI). 

He graduated with a MEng in Civil Engineering from Queen’s University Belfast in 2009 and is currently completing a Part-Time PhD in Bridge Management and Scour. He is a Principal Civil Engineer for DfI Roads & Rivers heading up the Highway Structures Unit and has a keen interest in heritage structures.

Dr. Robert Eadie

Academic Liaison Officer, CIHT Northern Ireland

Dr. Robert Eadie is Academic Lead for Civil Engineering apprentices at Ulster University and MSc Civil and Infrastructure Engineering Course director.

His PhD was related to e-procurement in construction, and his research focuses on BIM, Procurement, Roads and pedagogy. He spent 20 years in industry in consultancy, on site and in the public sector before moving into academia. He also holds a DHC from the European Polytechnical University.

A fellow of CIHT and Engineers Ireland, he is a Past Chair of Engineers Ireland Northern Region, a previous council member and represents them on the Professional College of CPCNI which lobbies government on Industry needs. He is a Chartered Committee Member of CIHT Northern Ireland. He is currently Treasurer for the Association of Civil Engineering Departments which is an umbrella group representing over fifty Universities who teach Civil engineering.

He currently teaches Project Management and Traffic Engineering at Ulster University. He has over eighty peer-reviewed academic publications. He is currently working on the FASTER project in Northern Ireland a €6,4 million grant from SEUPB for the installation of fast EV Chargers in Northern Ireland. 

Karen McShane

CIHT President & Committee Member, CIHT Northern Ireland

Karen is the current President of CIHT and a past Chair of the Northern Ireland Region with over 30 years experience in the Highways and Transportation Sector mainly as a Consultant. 

She has worked on many of Northern Ireland's major developments. Karen is a strong promoter of Diversity and Inclusion within the industry.

Adam Heanen

Committee Member, CIHT Northern Ireland

Adam is a Chartered Civil Engineer with over 15 years’ experience within the Department for Infrastructure (DfI). 

A graduate of Queen’s University Belfast and the University of Ulster, he is currently a Principal Engineer for DfI Roads & Rivers procurement.

Geoff Allister OBE

CIHT Past President

Geoff is a Past President of CIHT and currently Chair of the Audit Committee. 

He is an Executive Advisor for Amey Consulting where he has a role as an external ambassador and works to improve relationships with senior clients and key external stakeholders.

Between 2012 and 2017 he was the Executive Director of the Highways Term Maintenance Association (HTMA), the trade organisation that represented the service providers who maintain around 80% of the UK roads network. 

Prior to joining HTMA Geoff was Chief Executive of Northern Ireland’s Roads Service where he worked closely with local Ministers and the Northern Ireland Assembly, and was responsible for managing and developing the province’s 25,000 km public road network. 

Geoff was awarded an OBE in the New Year 2016 Honours List for services to Highway Engineering in Northern Ireland.

Dr. Andrew Murray

Committee Member, CIHT Northern Ireland

Until his recent retirement, Andrew was a Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Department for Infrastructure (NI), a position he held since 2012. 

His role included being head of Northern Ireland’s sole highway authority, which maintains, develops and manages all parts of the province’s 26,000 km road network.

Andrew has been a Chartered Civil Engineer who has had more than 35 years experience of highways. He has held a number of senior positions in Northern Ireland’s highway authority, including being Divisional Roads Manager in 2 of the 4 Divisions. He was also Head of Transportation for a period, before taking up a Director post in 2006.

At a National level, Andrew has represented Northern Ireland on the UK Roads Liaison Group and he is a former chair of the UK Roads Board. He also represented NI for a period on the UK Executive Committee of the World Roads Association.



Philip Robinson

Committee Member, CIHT Northern Ireland

Philip is a past Chair of the NI Committee and has been a Reviewer for CIHT since 2006. 

He is a Fellow of both CIHT and ICE and has been working in the public sector for over 27 years, mainly in the areas of highways & transportation.

He is currently the Head of Public Private Partnership (PPP), Street Works & IT Projects in DfI-Roads Headquarters.