CIHT Scotland Awards 2020

The 2020 CIHT Scotland Young Professional of the Year and Apprentice of the Year Awards aim to celebrate the very best the region offers across the key areas of highways and transportation. The awards for 2020 were awarded on 12 January 2021. 

Young Professional of the Year 2020

Sponsored by SYSTRA

The aim of the Award is to celebrate individual excellence in Transport Planning and /or Civil Engineering within Scottish highways and transportation sector.


WINNNER - Duncan Morrison 

Duncan is a roads design engineer currently employed by Sweco in their Transportation team. Following completion of a MEng in Civil and Environmental Engineering from the University of Aberdeen, Duncan started his career at Mouchel in 2015. In 2016 he moved to Sweco where he has continued his development.

He is currently an Engineer working on the A96 Dualling Project, specifically a new 46km section between Hardmuir and the east of Fochabers. Duncan has been responsible for various roads design aspects of the job as it has developed through DMRB Stages 2 and 3.




Award Details 

The Award, sponsored by SYSTRA, comprised of a £100 Amazon voucher for the winner and a £50 Amazon voucher for the runner up. 


Apprentice of the Year 2020

Sponsored by Jacobs 

The CIHT Scotland Apprentice of the Year Award, sponsored by Jacobs, is designed to recognise and celebrate an apprentice who is making an impactful difference in the Scottish highways and transportation industry.


WINNER - Meg Scott 

Meg joined AECOM’s Glasgow ‘Streets’ team in 2019 as a Graduate Apprentice and is currently completing studies at Glasgow Caledonian University BSc (Hons) (Year 3) Graduate Apprentice Civil (Environmental) Engineering on a day release basis. During her short time within the team Meg has produced a range of concept and developed designs for Active Travel Infrastructure in Edinburgh and Glasgow, as well as signalised crossings throughout Aberdeenshire, working with software such as AutoCAD, Civils 3D and GIS.

Meg’s submission for the Apprentice of the Year award discussed the effects of the pandemic on her personal life and on the industry. Particularly highlighting the importance of ‘Spaces for People’ and active travel infrastructure moving forward to Carbon net zero as a nation.  In her spare time Meg volunteers as a Cub Scout Leader and a STEM ambassador delivering activities relating to the importance of a green future, science, and safety, allowing her to directly influence the next generation of engineers

Award Details 

The Award, sponsored by Jacobs, comprised of a £100 Amazon voucher for the winner and a £50 Amazon voucher for the runner up.


Tom Riddle Prize 2020

Annual prizes in memory of Tom Riddell, one of the founder members in 1930 of the then named Institution of Highways Engineers, now CIHT. The prizes are awarded for excellence in a transportation subject at post graduate level at the University of Strathclyde and at Edinburgh Napier University. The 2020 Awards were awarded by the CIHT President, Martin Tugwell. 


  • Aaron Hand - Edinburgh Napier University 

  • Niloufar Zanganehasadabadi and Hamzah Mahmood - University of Strathclyde


Help and Support

If you have a question please contact